• TABB HIGH CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS

    2020-2021

     

     African-American History Club - serves as an avenue for students to embrace, study, and understand the wonderful heritage of African-Americans.

    Advisor: Mrs. Tamela Hughes (thughes@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Anime Club - provides exposure to this popular Japanese form of animation of artwork and promotes appreciation of art in general.

    Advisor: Mr. Erick Grube (egrube@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Art Club - designed to let students explore and experience art by way of monthly student generated art projects, visiting local artists, field trips to art museums and galleries, and contributing artistically to the community. Students use this club as an outlet for their creative side.

    Advisor: Ms. Michele Williams (mwilliams@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    BETA Club – promotes ideals of service, character, leadership, and academic achievement through group presentations, projects, and competitions.

    Advisors: Ms. Stephanie Miller (smiller@ycsd.york.va.us) and Ms. Elizabeth Milne (emilne@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Bowling Club-consists of all those who wish to bowl competitively in the Peninsula High School Traveling League. Over the years, multiple teams have represented Tabb. Its purpose is friendly, bi-weekly competition during the winter season.

    Advisor: Ms. Melanie White (mwhite@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Club Earth- works to promote environmental action and awareness both at Tabb High School and within the community.

    Advisors: Ms. Kristen Grigonis (kgrigonis@ycsd.york.va.us), Ms. Sherri Sklute (ssklute@ycsd.york.va.us), and Ms. Diane Pearce (dpearce@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Debate-was the first activity offered to public schools through the VHSL. At THS we have worked at becoming a traditionally strong Lincoln-Douglas team.

    Advisor: Ms. Leighton Scott (lscott@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    DECA-is an association of Marketing Students. The DECA Chapters are to marketing students as civic and professional organizations are to a group of business people. Students participate on the District, State and National level conferences and competitions.

    Advisors: Lynn Pitchford(lpitchford@ycsd.york.va.us) and Ms. Christina Majka (cmajka@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

     E-Sports – VHSL sponsored virtual gaming competitions.

    Advisor: Ms. Julia DiOrio  (jdiorio@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    FBLA-(Future Business Leaders of America) helps to develop competent, aggressive business leadership through strengthening the confidence of students in themselves and their work.

    Advisors: Gordon Chai (gchai@ycsd.york.va.us) and Mr. Matt Lawson (mlawson@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    FCS – (Fellow Christian Students) is a group of primarily Christian youth who gather to sing and give thanks for the blessings and challenges of the week, to pray for those in need, and to fellowship with each other.

    Advisor: Mr. Matt Lawson(mlawson@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Forensics - VHSL sponsored activity in which students compete for medals and trophies by presenting speeches, scenes, poems, cuttings, and stories.

    Advisors: Ms. Michelle Nivison (scoffman@ycsd.york.va.us) and Ms. Michelle Koontz(mkoontz@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Girls Mentorship Club – This mentoring group is designed to provide a rich and rewarding student experience enhancing self esteem and building confidence through high school by creating positive social and academic experiences.

    Advisor:  Ms. Eyvette Jones (ejones@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    GSA – aims to create a safe, welcoming, and accepting school environment for all youth, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.

    Advisor:  Ms. Leighton Scott (lscott@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Key Club-is an international service organization committed to developing initiative and leadership, providing experience in living and working together, and serving both the school and the community.

    Advisor: Ms. Dowler Wheat (dwheat@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Model U.N. - an interactive, interdisciplinary simulation, which places students in the role of official United Nations delegates. Committees then debate current political, social, economic and legal issues. 

    Advisors: Ms. Adrianne McKinney (amkinney@ycsd.york.va.us) and Mr. Brian McGovern (bmcgovern@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Odyssey of the Mind-a program that fosters creative thinking and problem solving skills by having students solve problems in a variety of areas.

    Advisor: TBD

     

    Organic Gardening Club – students work together to plant and harvest a variety of organic vegetables in the gardens behind THS.

    Advisor: Mr. Rick Howell (rhowell@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Robotics - Teams of students create, build, and program robots to complete tasks on a competitive playing field. 

    Advisors:  Ms. Melanie White (mwhite@ycsd.york.va.us) and Ms. Stephanie Miller (smiller@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Scholastic Bowl - one of VHSL’s most successful programs. It is an academic competition between schools, ending in a State VHSL championship. Four person teams compete on a wide range of academic subjects.

    Advisors: Ms. Roxanne O’Regan (roregan@ycsd.york.va.us) and Ms. Lynn Shematek (lshematek@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Sight & Sound - a service/profit organization where students learn how to work the lighting and sound systems at THS. $$ can be earned when working for non-school groups using our building.

    Advisor: Mr. Ben Lawson(blawson@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Signed Voices – students learn the basics of sign language.

    Advisor:  Ms. Jenna Newmarker (jnewmarker@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Tabb Student Ambassadors - provides and promotes a positive view of Tabb High School by encouraging involvement and orienting students. Its major event each year is the Club Fair held in late September. Members serve as tour guides for new students  

              and parents.

    Advisor: Ms. Shannon Lawrence (slawrence@ycsd.york.va.us)

              

    Tigers Crushing Cancer-members work together to raise money for cancer awareness and for cancer research in hopes of a cure. Members also participate in the “Relay for Life” event held each spring.

    AdvisorMs. Rainah Gillis (rgillis@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Tiger Friends - a student tutoring group that serves Tabb Elementary School. Application process required.

    Advisor: Ms. Eyvette Jones (ejones@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Tiger TV – students work together to create simple videos that promote school spirit and also are very informative. These videos are shared with the student body.

    Advisor: Elizabeth Milne (emilne@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Trivia Club – an online group of THS students who broaden their trivia knowledge and challenge each other by competing “for fun” in Jeopardy and Quiz Bowl tournaments. Students of all grade levels are encouraged to join!

     

    TSA-(Technology Student Association) is a national organization for technology education students. The mission is to promote leadership and personal growth in technology.

    Advisor: Mr. Bob Brownschidle (bbrownschidle@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Unified Tigers – students with and without disabilities work together through fun competitions that promote inclusion and generate school spirit.

    Advisors: Michelle Nivison (scoffman@ycsd.york.va.us)  and Michelle Koontz (mkoontz@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Virginia Math League- a series of 6 tests per year, consisting of 6 questions each, with a 30 minute time limit. Schools compete state-wide.

    Advisor: Ms. Cena Kirsch (kkirsch@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Y – Street – students are trained on Y street’s campaign for a healthier Virginia and participate in activities towards that end.

    Advisors:  Ms. Christina Majka (cmajka@ycsd.york.va.us) and Ms. Lynn Pitchford (lpitchford@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Yearbook - a class-based journalistic endeavor available by application to rising 10th, 11th and 12th grade students. Published yearly in June, it offers editorial, photographic, writing, research, and computer-design & layout opportunities to organized and dedicated young men and women.

    Advisor:  Leighton Scott (lscott@ycsd.york.va.us)

     

    Young Democrats & Young Republicans – students facilitate appropriate discussions on the political process and current world events

    Advisor:  Ms. Allie West (awest@ycsd.york.va.us)